Just quotes

The Wind-up Bird Chronicle: Picturing Death

“When people die, it’s so cool.”

“I wish I had a scalpel. I’d cut it open and look inside. Not the corpse…The lump of death. I’m sure there must be something like that. Something round and squishy, like a softball, with a hard little core of dead nerves. I want to take it out of a dead person and cut it open and look inside. I’ve always wondered what it’s like. Maybe it’s all hard, like toothpaste dried up inside the tube. That’s it, don’t you think?…It’s squishy on the outside, and the deeper you go inside, the harder it gets. I want to cut open the skin and take out the squishy stuff, use a scalpel and some kind of spatula to get through it, and the closer you get to the centre, the harder the squishy stuff gets, until you reach this tiny core. It’s so tiny, like a tiny ball bearing, and really hard. It must be like that, don’t you think?”

p.20-21

Standard

Leave a Reply

